i don’t want to

I don’t want to remember that day.  I just don’t want to feel the horror, the pain, the overwhelming sadness.

I’m avoiding reading news on the Internet, avoiding the newspapers, avoiding the television completely.  But I know, when or even if, I turn on football, it will be there.  As it should.

It should be remembered for all of those innocent people who lost their lives.  For all those first responders that lost their lives or have to live the rest of their lives with that memory.

I should be remembered for those husbands, wives, children, grandchildren, mothers, fathers, grandparents, sisters, and brothers who lost their loved ones, whether in a New York tower, a building in Washington D.C., or a field in Pennsylvania.

It should be remembered by all Americans as a day we were attacked, without provocation, on our own soil.  It should be remembered a day that brought Americans together.

I don’t want to remember, but I do.  Every single year that passes, 9/11/2001 is in my thoughts. I don’t want it to be there, but it always will be.

It’s a Sunday, so I don’t have work to keep my mind off of it.  I have chores to do, but that won’t keep my mind off of it.  With Scuba Man at the beach, he can’t keep my mind off of it.  I’ll have tears on my cheeks, off and on, all day.

I don’t want to remember it, but I do.

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to i don’t want to

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Bless your heart…what you just felt was a hug.

Leave a Reply

