fall is falling

It feels like Fall decided he’s had enough of Summer and forcefully pushed her out of the way.  One day it was 90 degrees and the next 72.  How did Fall arrive so quickly?

I was walking with Willow down the tree lined walking paths Friday.  While watching her sniff her way into happiness, I noticed the first few leaves that had fallen.  Vibrant bright red and beautiful gold lying on the ground.

Willow ignored them, choosing instead the scents of rabbits and squirrels.  I couldn’t.  I wanted to grab a camera and take pictures of the leaves, but I didn’t have my camera.  I usually don’t have it at those times I look around and see a particular spot of incredible beauty in nature.

Fall is my favourite time of year.  I love sweater weather.  I like it chilly, but no too cold.  I love the colours of the trees as they get ready to shed their fancy spring and summer outfits.  I love watching the squirrels as they gather the acorns from our oak trees, leaving the shells all over the deck and front lawn.

I love raking leaves.  Scuba Man thinks that’s crazy.  He says it’s easier to mulch them with the lawn mower, empty them in to the back of the truck, then make a dump run.  We usually compromise.  I rake the leaves into big piles, then he mulches them.  We even have a great system for getting them out of the pick-up on to the brush pile.

I love that the mosquitoes are, for the most part, gone.  I am one of those people who, if there is a mosquito in the area, it’s going to bite me.  It’s so nice to be able to walk outside without having to worry about that.

I love that Willow appreciates the cooler weather.  She wants to spend more time outdoors.  She’ll sit on the deck and just watch the world go by.  She’ll find herself a little ray of sunshine and lay down to soak it up.  She’ll want to go for longer walks since she doesn’t get overheated.

I know that within a few weeks Indian Summer will come to call and the temperatures will go back up for a couple of weeks.  But for now, I’m enjoying the beginnings of my favourite season.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to fall is falling

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Sweaters and snuggling…there’s just something special about Fall. Enjoyed your post, Seashell.

  2. Seashell says:

    Thanks Leroy. I forgot all about the snuggling…and the beginnings of be being able to light the fireplace on those chilly nights! There is just so much about Fall to love!

  3. “I was walking with Willow down the tree lined walking paths Friday. While watching her sniff her way into happiness, I noticed the first few leaves that had fallen. Vibrant bright red and beautiful gold lying on the ground.”

    I just love that passage, Shell! It’s so beautifully written!

  4. Fall is the best and I’m very much enjoying the cooler temperatures!

  5. Yep, Autumn is on its way and its beautiful…

  6. Dillon says:

    I love sweater weather too! Here in CO we had a tease of cool weather, then suddenly it jumped back up to 80 today. I’ve never heard the term “Indian Summer,” but maybe that’s what’s going on…

    • Seashell says:

      Indian Summer is what it’s called in the East, although I don’t know why. We had a few days in of temps in the 80’s but it’s back down in the sixties now. Bliss….

  7. Fall brings forth a cozy delight to the eyes and festive colors that makes you appreciate the great things around us.

Leave a Reply

