lucky bamboo

I have bamboo in my home office.  In Feng Shui, this is considered lucky.  I’ve never really paid too much attention to Feng Shui, but some people really believe in it.

My plant has three stalks.  Three is for happiness, and two is for love and marriage.  I’m not sure if they build on each other, but I have a very happy marriage, so maybe they do!

Bamboo is said to be lucky because it teaches how to be flexible and open on the inside, as a bamboo plant is.  The belief is that being flexible and open allows the spirit to freely flow and heal your being.

To really be considered lucky in Feng Shui, it has to represent all 5 Feng Shui elements, wood, earth, water, fire, and metal.  The wood element, of course, is the bamboo itself.  The rocks the bamboo grows in represents the earth.  I use glass marbles to support mine, rather than rocks, so I am missing the earth element.

The water element is the water the bamboo grows in.  A red ribbon tied to the bamboo pot is said to represent the fire element.  The glass pots belong to the metal element.

Bamboo is really easy to grow.  Mine is in a small glass vase, held in place with glass marbles.  I keep it on a shelf out of direct sunlight.  I add water as needed, although I just found out you should completely change out the water every week.  Bottled water, or tap water left out for 24 hours is the best water to use.

I’m not sure if it’s the Feng Shui or what it is, but when I look up from my computer and see my bamboo, it brings a moment of happiness.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lucky bamboo

  1. I love anything bamboo. I even had a Christmas decor made of the material. The biggest live ones, beautiful and resilient are in the Tropics where I came from. When they sway during strong winds, the look like ballerinas dancing across the green landscape. Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

