the world has lost a visionary

It seems to be all anyone is talking about today.  Steve Jobs,  creator of the Apple computers and all the ‘i’ electronic devices (iPhone, iPad, etc) passed away yesterday.

He outlived all odds after being diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2004.  The one year survival rate is about 20%, the 5 year rate, 4%.   Being the overachiever that he was, Jobs survived for 7 years.  Incredible, just like the man.

I am not an Apple person, but I am a geek.  The man was a genius.  I don’t think personal electronics technology will advance anywhere near as fast or creative as it has since 1976.  Although Apple devices use proprietary software (some geeks don’t like that, including me), Jobs made the result all about the end-user.  People I know that use Apple products are diehards.  They won’t use anything else.

One thing that really impressed me about Jobs is how he willing mentored others in the computer technology field, even competitors;  founders of Facebook, Yahoo, and Google, Walt Disney Corporation and Pixar.  Mentoring is a great gift to give others.

I’ll leave you with a quote from his 2005 commencement speech at Standford University.  Reading in now makes me think about it much harder and makes me realize how brave Jobs was.

“Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything—all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure—these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma—which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.”

Rest in peace Mr. Jobs.  Thank you for changing the world.
This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the world has lost a visionary

  1. I still don’t have the words to express how I feel about his death. I cried. His products have defined my life in so many ways. Without them, I would be a completely different person, a person that I don’t think I would like as much.

  2. Seashell says:

    It is so very sad. I truly think he changed the world with what he gave us. I can’t help but wonder if he realized that.

Leave a Reply

