brainiac in the morning

I am not a morning person.  I like to sleep late and would every day if I could.  The problem is, I am also at my best in the morning.

I think better in the  morning.  By the time 2:30 – 3:00 in the afternoon rolls around, I’m tired of thinking and my mind just wants to go on autopilot.  If I have a work problem that I haven’t solved by then, I know it won’t get solved until the next morning.  The only exception to this is if I’m in the zone and nothing exists for me but the code I’m writing.

Even on the weekends, if I don’t sleep in, I am much more energetic.  I can get so many chores finished so quickly!

The problem is, I love to sleep.  Part of it is because I need a good 8 hours of sleep to be at my best, and I rarely get that on weekdays.  I also don’t get a solid nights sleep most nights because one or the other of the quadrupeds gets fidgety and wake me up.  I usually fall right back to sleep, but it’s still sleep interrupted.

I started a bad habit by letting them sleep in the bed with us.  They were both so tiny when we started letting them out of their kennels at night.  It was only natural that they wanted to be with mommy and daddy at night.  It is a comforting feeling to have Willow all snuggled up against me and have Pockets laying on me.  Luckily it’s not the other way around!

My bed is my sanctuary.  It’s where I feel safe and secure, no matter what.  I don’t know why.  It’s comforting when I wake up at night and know my whole little family is right there with me.  It means all is right with the world.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to brainiac in the morning

  1. barb19 says:

    I love this post Shell, and share your sentiments about waking up in the night and seeing my 4 legged family right next to me (we only have one now so more room for the hub and me!) She wakes me at 5am (thank goodness I’m a morning person), to go outside whilst I wait for her, then comes in to have her “schmacko’ fix!
    When we overseas recently, I really missed her being there on our bed – even though it meant I could lie in to a more reasonable hour!.

  2. I am not a morning person either!

    I love it when I have all three cats sleeping on my bed with me. It’s a king-sized bed, and I’m rather small, but they always manage to position themselves so that I have to contort myself to sleep.

Leave a Reply

