I didn’t volunteer for the French Foreign Legion

I am not a volunteer person, as in I don’t do charity volunteer work.  Sometimes it bothers me, but then I think where would I find the time?  It’s obviously not a priority in my life.

I think it’s because my parents and most people I know never volunteered.  You learn from watching others, but I had no volunteers to watch growing up.

I have been a volunteer for a couple of things.  I was a Girl Scout Brownie leader at one time.  I also spent several years in the Jaycees, an organization that does a lot of volunteering.

We give generously to our favorite charities money wise.  We give most everything we no longer want to the charity shop.  We buy things like cookies or magazine subscriptions from children we know who are trying to raise money for their school or organization by selling.

We just don’t give our time.

I have a friend who is a massage therapist.  He just started volunteering to give massages at a nursing home for those with diminished mental capacity.  He thinks it’s wonderful.  One of the guys I work with is a founding board member for Ten Thousand Villages here in town, and is very involved with the success of it. Another good friend of mine is in the ‘Big Brother’ organization and has a ‘little brother’ he spends time with.  I also know some people who volunteer for charity walks for their chosen organization as a way to raise funds.

My brother is a big time volunteer.  He is a professional firefighter who also volunteers at the local volunteer fire house.  He puts his life on the line when he volunteers.

I think if I did volunteer, it would have to have something to do with children or animals.  But, with having a full-time job, taking care of the house, and being away one or two weekends every month, I couldn’t schedule something on a regular basis.

It’s not that I’m uncaring.  Sometimes, I care too much.  Maybe it’s because of that I’m not willing to find the time.  I would hate to be involved with a child and find out their parent isn’t parenting responsibly, or an animal organization where at times they have to put an animal to sleep.  I know I would cry, and be heartbroken.  I would want to keep the child and take all the animals home.

Scuba Man says I have too big of a heart.  I don’t think that’s a bad thing.  It just means I would get way too emotionally involved if I volunteered.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I didn’t volunteer for the French Foreign Legion

  1. Hey Shell,
    People help in different ways. You support causes by buying products etc Without people like you they would not be able to raise money. You work full time and sometimes it is just not realistic to volutunteer. I have the time but do not have a cause I feel passionate about close to my home.
    I’d love to get involve with a charity who supports carers but it’s miles away and the cost of petrol alone would be stupid. So instead I support their charity shop when I’m in the area.

    Shell every little helps so please don’t beat yourself up as you are a kind and caring person. When you retire things may be different and you can reasses the situation then
    Now, that’s the lecture over for today from Piglet!

  2. LeRoy Dean says:

    Many years from now, when you get old and retired like me, you can satisfy your desire to volunteer. In the meantime, I wouldn’t worry about it. volunteering can be a full time job. 🙂

  3. It’s all about finding a way to help the less fortunate and needy that feels right for you. What truly matters is that they are receiving aid, and it’s clear you’re already doing it!

    I do most of my charity work by volunteering, simply because I’m a kid and don’t have lots of money to donate. I do, however, buy a lot of my friends livestock from Heifer International (an awesome charity that donates livestock to struggling communities around the world. It helps them generate income, work their farms, and provides food. Plus, who doesn’t want a card saying they have been given a flock of chicks?) as birthday and holiday gifts. That’s what works for me, and there is nothing wrong with it as long as I am giving what I have to offer generously.

Leave a Reply

