find robbie

There is a sad situation happening just north of Richmond, in Doswell.  An 8-year-old child, who is severely autistic and cannot speak, is missing.  He disappeared during a family walk at the local park last Sunday.

There is a massive search happening.  It is in its 6th day.  The news is reporting there have been over 2,500 people volunteering with hundreds of them returning day after day.  Between 1,000 and 1,500 people are searching each day.

There are also hundreds of professional search and rescue teams, man trackers, search dogs, and searchers in the air.  It seems like everything possible is being done to find this child.

I cannot imagine what the parents must be going through.  I have nothing to compare it to.  A missing puppy or kitty isn’t the same.  I don’t even think other parents can imagine it unless it has happened to them.  It would be horror enough for a child to disappear, but this child has such special needs.

It’s possible that the search is actually hurting the child.  Autistic children are often afraid of loud noises.  They often don’t know how to react in social situations.  With the noise and number of people searching, he could be hiding.

The thing that has concerned me is that no one is thinking abduction.  It’s an evil thought, but it happens.  It happens so often that it’s in the news a couple of times a week.  The news has not reported the possibility at all.  It’s scary.

I know that everyone who has heard of this little boy is hoping and praying he is just lost and will soon be found.  I sure am.  But there are so many possibilities, and not all of them are good.  If he is lost, does he have the mental capacity to find food or water?  Too keep warm now that the night temperatures have dropped?  Does he know to stay put so he can be found, or is he wandering still?

I hope for the best and expect the worse.  It’s just the way I was raised.  Individually, I think the best of people and trust them unless they prove they can’t be trusted.  But as a whole, I don’t trust society.  I think the worse in this kind of situation.  It’s not because society in general is bad.  It’s because only the bad about society is reported.

We tend to not think that something somewhat positive is happening with this child.  Maybe he came across a home where an elderly person lives.  They took him in and fed him.  They have no internet and don’t watch the news, so they haven’t heard about the missing child.  He can’t communicate so he can’t help them.  They’re hanging on to him, caring for him, in the hopes his parents will come looking, but will eventually call the police.

That’s just a pipe dream.  Something I want to be true.  I want this story to end with a happily ever after.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to find robbie

  1. These sorts of things are so scary. So, so scary!

  2. barb19 says:

    This happens all too often I’m afraid, but I’m an optimist and pray that Robbie will be found alive and well. Perhaps your scenario of an elderly couple taking care of him and calling the Police, will eventuate. I hope so.

  3. melsar93 says:

    “It happens so often that it’s in the news a couple of times a week.” I don’t think this is true of abductions. Abductions are assault on kids are almost always from someone the child already knows. Stranger abduction is extremely rare. If there are divorced parents or some odd family situation then the police are probably investigating that along with the search.

  4. melsar93 says:

    And my thoughts definitely go out to the parents.

  5. It would certainly be terrible if he was abducted 😦 I remember when Madelain McCain went missing. Her parents went out to dinner and left 3 tiny children in a holiday apartment alone. I still ask myself what happended to that poor little girl that night. Where is she and is she suffering? I hope not.

    I do hope your story has a happy ending…

  6. Seashell says:

    It was a happy ending! Just minutes after I posted this, the news broke that the child was found! He was taken to VCU for observation, but is fine. A few cuts and bruises, a little dehydration, but now back home with mom and day. I love it when God answers you prayers the way you want Him to!

Leave a Reply

