I was off…

I spent this past weekend, and then some, off the internet.  Know what?  I didn’t miss it at all.

I spent a lot of my usual internet time reading books.  Granted, I spend time on the internet reading my favorite blogs (which I am way behind on reading), but it’s not the same.  Blogs are short and you really can’t “get into” them.

A book, however, takes me away.  I want to read the book straight through to the end.  Then, when I’m through, I miss the characters.  I get deeply involved in books.

Surprisingly, I did not miss Facebook.  I thought I would.  I didn’t miss every little thing written by my friends and family.  I wasn’t worried about family photos because once they’re posted, I can go to a person’s page and view them at my leisure.

There was no shopping on-line.  There was no mindless web surfing.  There was no finances or budget looked at.  I didn’t even check my email.

I survived.  I wanted a weekend away from my computer and I did it.  I enjoyed it so much that I see it happening again in the future.

Could you survive a day or weekend away from a computer?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I was off…

  1. Well that was one of the was it 8 weekends in your 101/1001. It’s amazing though there is life instead of computers. I found this when I enver had interent for a week!

    • Seashell says:

      I’ve been pretty much off the internet for most of the week, too. I’ve been getting so much more accomplished! I need to set aside some time to get caught up on my blog reading, though.

  2. barb19 says:

    On my recent trip to the UK I went a full month of hardly using a computer – and it was great! Sure, we were busy visiting family, lots going on, but we also had quiet times too – but I didn’t feel inclined to go on the internet! I was quite surprised at myself feeling that way, because it has become a big part of my life.
    Yes, there is life beyond the internet and it’s good to get out there and grab some of it!

  3. I could survive but I think my kids would riot if we were without internet for more than a few hours 😉

Leave a Reply

