it’s saturday night

It’s a little chilly here at the beach.  There aren’t many people  around, just the residents, a few non-resident home owners, and a hand full of surfers and fishermen.

This time of year is one of my favorites here.  Although the nights are too cool for me, the days are usually nice enough to walk on the beach and not be cold.  The beach is fairly empty.  We can let Willow off her leash and let her romp and play.  I love that!

On this Saturday night, Scuba Man is playing Eve online.  Willow and Pockets are cuddled together sleeping, no doubt wishing mommy would go to bed so they could go with her and snuggle there.

It’s peaceful and quite.  The television is off.  I just finished reading a book.  It was a good book, so now I need to take a bit of a break before I start the next one.

I’m restless, I really don’t know what I want to do.  I like to be over at the Bistro having a couple of drinks, but don’t feel like getting up and walking over.  They just moved into their new, bigger building and it’s so nice!  It’s also just a very short walk away.

I sit here and wonder who is hanging over there, and how good it was to see the same friendly faces in the new place that we saw in the old place.

I wonder what the locals are doing tonight?  Are they at the Bistro or maybe they’re down at Finnigans?  Now that the season is over, there are very few restaurants that are open, so I doubt it would be hard to find a friend or two.  But, we went out with friends on Thursday night and I’m just not up to another late night out.

I’m sitting here thinking about what our lives will be like once we move here permanently.  Our lives will be more laid back, more casual.  We’ll have more time to have fun, more time to walk on the beach, more time to just be us.  We’ll leave our stress and worries further north and just be Islanders.  Ahhhhh…..

It can’t happen soon enough for me!

But, it’s late and I’m starting to get sleepy.  It’s time to wake up my babies and take them to bed.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it’s saturday night

  1. What a lovely evening! That sounds wonderful! I hope the rest of your weekend continues to be this much fun!

  2. barb19 says:

    I felt like I was right there with you shell! It was a nice evening.
    Go on, wake your babies up and take them to bed with you!

Leave a Reply

