music in life

Music is a big part of my life.  Hearing a certain song can evoke so many memories and feelings.

One of the happiest is hearing the song we danced to at our wedding, Watching the River Run by Seales and Croft.  I think of our first dance and how everyone thought the song so unusual for a wedding.  Scuba Man  somehow had timed it right on the drive to the restaurant on our anniversary this year.  It was the last song we heard before we left the truck.

Songs that have an incredible orchestra crescendo never fail to make my heart soar.  It’s almost as if I feel it flying high up in the sky.  It’s a feeling of freedom, of nothing holding me back.  It’s bliss listening to Josh Groban’s Alejate.

Some songs are comforting.  When I hear my mama’s favorite song, Keeper of the Stars by Tracy Byrd, I can’t think of anything but her and how she’s probably smiling in heaven, listening to the song with me.  I remember how much she loved the song.  My parents had a favorite restaurant that had a local singer on the weekends.  My mama had requested the song so much, that after a while, the singer would sing it was soon as she got settled at her table.

Really upbeat songs put me in a great mood or make me feel energetic.  They are great to listen to when cleaning or exercising.  It makes chores go faster and not feel like drudgery.

Old country and western songs make me yearn for simpler times. When I was a child, it was the music my daddy would listen to, even though my mama didn’t like it at all.  It’s the music I grew up with as I spent a lot time with him.  My favorites were Conway Twiddy’s Hello Darlin’ and Willie Nelson’s He Stopped Loving Her Today.  That song still brings tears to my eyes.

I believe music can even affect dogs.  When Willow was just a puppy, she was small enough to ride in my lap on the way to the beach.  Every time we drove down, the soundtrack to Mamma Mia! was played.  As she got too big for the front seat, she started riding in the back.  She didn’t like that at all, but it seems like when we would play Momma Mia! she would settle right down and snooze!

The only kind of music I won’t listen to is gangsta rap and head banging music.  I like almost every other genre of music.

I don’t think I could live without.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to music in life

  1. melsar93 says:

    “The only kind of music I won’t listen to is gangsta rap and head banging music. I like almost every other genre of music.”

    I second this.

    The day I got laid off I did a lot of driving around and the songs on the radio did a good job towards keeping me sane.

  2. I love music. Anything from Classical to rock music. I grew up with hawkwind, the who and pink flloyd!

  3. Music is just wonderful. I live in a house where someone’s iPod is always playing in the Bose dock, and my dad spends inordinate amounts of time messing about in the music studio in our basement. I can’t imagine life without it.

Leave a Reply

