I’m so vain, I bet you think this song is about me

Actually, I’m not a very vain person at all, except for my hair.  If I’m going out of the house, I want my hair to look fabulous.

I’m not a slave to fashion.  I wear what is comfortable and functional.  If I find a pair of khakis I like, I’ll buy a few pair in different colors.  Same with blouses and skirts.  As long as I look halfway decent and my clothes are clean, I’m good with that.  But I am not a fashion plate.

I’m comfortable with my weight, although I know I weigh too much.  I want to lose, but not because of the way I look, but because it is healthier for me.  I get tired of taking blood pressure medication!

My shoes are comfortable and functional, although a little scuffed.  I have a black pair, a brown pair, 2 sets of sneakers, 2 pair of cheap, imitation crocs (aka garden clogs), a pair of flip-flops, and my cowboy boots.  Eight pair of shoes that will handle almost any situation.  How many pair are in your closet?

I don’t get my nails done and I don’t even paint them.  I rarely wear make-up.  Often, the only jewelry I wear is my favorite necklace.  My fingers swell a lot, so I only sometimes wear my rings.  The one pair of earrings I have are only worn on special occasions, if I remember.

My hair is a different story.  It’s long, blonde, and thick.  It has a lot of body so it’s not poker straight, but not enough body to be called wavy.  The last couple of years, I’ve noticed a few grey hairs here and there, so I dye it.  I’m too young to have grey hair!

I go to my stylist every 6 weeks for color and a trim.  It’s the only time my hair gets blown dry.  I never dry it myself.  I wash it in the evening and let it air dry overnight.  It’s healthier for your hair.  Once a week, I do a conditioning treatment.  In the mornings, I flat-iron it.  When I do, it’s perfectly straight and doesn’t look as thick.

With all the body, you would think my hair would hold curls.  It does, if I use tons of hairspray.  I love my hair with curls, but it just takes so long to do it.  So, mostly it’s straight.

I’ve heard the expression “A women’s hair is her crowning glory”.  In my case, it is true.  It’s horrible to say, but when I think of the possibility of getting cancer, one of my biggest fears is losing my hair!  Now, that’s darn vain!

I love my hair when it’s looking good, otherwise, it’s just my hair.  I feel good when it looks nice.  I feel more confident, but I don’t understand why.

I’ve had long blonde hair for a good part of my life, and I love it.  I don’t ever think I’ll get it cut short even when it’s really grey.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m so vain, I bet you think this song is about me

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    I appreciate your posts, seashell. Blessings to you and those you care about.

  2. barb19 says:

    You sound so much like me shell – except for the long blond hair!
    I had light brown, long, thick hair till my mid-thirties when I decided to have it cut (it took me 2 years to pluck up the courage). I do miss it sometimes but on the whole, no regrets – long hair would drive me crazy living in a hot climate. Now it is still brown, (thanks to my hairdresser!), with blond streaks, short and still thick. My crowning glory – it’s the only thing I fuss over if I’m going anywhere.
    I’d love to see a pic of your crowning glory!

  3. Hey Shell! Thank you so much for your open arms and friendship! I understand being vain about your hair….I relish in the fact that I have a head full of thick, chocolate and honey brown hair!

    So love it up, girlfriend!

    Muah,
    Sparkle

  4. I have always been the owner of very thin and fine reddish brown hair while Pippa has very long, golden blonde hair with waves and loose curls. What I wouldn’t do for hair like yours!

Leave a Reply

