wine, turkey, and song

Thanksgiving at my sister’s house is always an adventure.  This year was no different.

There were 12 of us, 5 kid and 7 adults.  There was the ballet of cooking in the kitchen, lots of football, and the guys cleaning up as is usual.  Even my 5-year-old grand-nephew helped clear the table.

The food was, as usual, delicious.  My contribution ever year is the turkey.  I slow cook it through the night and it turns out nice and moist.  My sister and nieces do most of the cooking, but this year, Scuba Man got involved so I could finish watching the Packers game. 

My oldest niece (aka my oldest daughter) introduced me to two new wines.  My sister made a new dessert, pecan maple tart.  The baby had her first Thanksgiving, even though she couldn’t eat any of the food yet.  My sister’s house was decorated for Christmas and Thanksgiving everywhere.  It’s so festive.

We always laugh a lot when we’re together as a family and this year was no exception.  After dinner, the kids decided to tape each other.  Not video tape, scotch tape.  They started with their mouths getting taped.  Being the wonderful aunt I am, I suggested taping each other to the wall.  We all knew it wouldn’t work with scotch tape, but they didn’t know, so it was fun to watch.

When that didn’t work, they decided to tape each other up like they would tie each other up.  Wrapped at ankles, knees,  arms behind their backs, nose taped up (don’t worry , they could breathe), and taped to the office chair.  We couldn’t stop laughing!

After the youngest kids left, my 11-year-old grand-niece wanted to show us how well she played the clarinet.  I admit, she does play well, from what I heard.  I say from what I heard because Willow didn’t want to be left out.  Every time she started to play a song, Willow would start howling!  We all totally lost it the first time it happened, and just continued laughing.  My husband finally took her out on the porch, where they were watching football, so I could hear the music.

Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday.  It has the family gathering without the frenzy of Christmas, or birthday parties.  It’s a special day set aside for giving thanks to God for those that don’t do that daily.  A day to reflect on what blessings we have been given.

I am especially thankful to have such a wonderful, loving family.

This entry was posted in just a normal day, memories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to wine, turkey, and song

  1. Sounds like you had a great time! Shame you did not video the dog howling along with the clarinet and post it to youtube 🙂

  2. Sounds like such a good day!

Leave a Reply

