a photo is worth a thousand…minutes?

Mobile phones that have cameras have changed the way we live.  I realised this on Thanksgiving.

Gone are the days of posing for family photos, at least in my family.  No one brought a camera to the festivities this year.  A few photos were taken, but not many.

I miss some of the funny posed photos.  They may have sucked, but they do bring back memories of the day.  One of my favorites is my siblings and me sitting on the floor at our parent’s house one Christmas.  Nothing fancy, just the four of us posed silly.

A photo like that hasn’t happened in a long time.

With almost every one having a camera on their phone, a lot more spontaneous photos are snapped, every day.  It’s a blessing in a way.

I see some of my grand nieces and nephews in photos almost every day.  I feel like a daily part of their lives even if I can’t see them as often as I would like.

An unexpected pleasure can be captured almost anywhere or any time.  Most everyone carries their mobiles with them when they are awake.  A sudden funny moment can be captured instantly.

I’ve used mine to capture things I want to remember.  Taking a walk around our beach village, I took a photo of a landscaping company sign on a yard that looked awesome.  I’ve used it for comparison shopping, taking a photo of not only the item, but the price sign to see who is offering the better deal.

I still miss everyone using a camera and looking at real photos, 90% of which you want to toss away because they turned out horrible.  Family gatherings where everyone brings the photos taken last time and of any special occasions that have happened since then are a thing of the past.

Cameras on mobiles can be a blessing, but I guess I’m still a little old-fashioned about those picture album photos.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a photo is worth a thousand…minutes?

  1. I carry my camera everywhere! Unfortunately my iphone does not have a somm…well I don’t think it does 🙂
    Mr Piglet calls me a Japenese Tourist!
    PiP

  2. John Hartman says:

    I guess I’m old fashion, I still prefer my camera, when our grandson was born it took me a while to figure out how to use the camera in my phone.
    J & V

  3. barb19 says:

    I have my mobile phone with me all the time which has a camera, but I never think to use it – perhaps because I also carry my other camera where ever I go; the picture quality is much better and you never know when you are going to get one of those ‘one in a million’ shots!

  4. I must admit that I still take my camera with me everywhere! Candids are nice and really capture what it was like to be in the middle of the experience, but the often awkward posed ones can certainly be the funniest!

Leave a Reply

