I’ll be home for Christmas

Home is where the heart is, and my heart is at the beach.  That’s where I’ll be for Christmas.

Last year, I didn’t do a lot of decorating at our house here in Richmond.  I think I put the wreath on the door and the nativity on the mantle, but that was it.  We also put up a tree which Pockets immediately claimed as his own.  Luckily, I had only decorated it with ribbons.

Our beach home was a little more decorated, but not much.  We had a tree there and the stockings hung.  Scuba Man surprised me and put lights on the railings of the deck and steps.  I had a few window decorations also.  But, it felt more like Christmas there.  Maybe it was the gifts under the tree.

This year, I did better up here.  Window decorations, Poinsettias on the porch, garland and ribbons in doorways, other knick knacks scattered around and an evergreen swag on the front door.  We had to buy a new tree, which Scuba Man put up this evening.  It’s awaiting my touch now.

We’ll do the same things at the beach when we get there just a couple of days before Christmas.  Put the lights outside, put up the tree, decorate the windows and hang the stockings.  I can’t wait to get there.

We used to spend Christmas at my sister’s.  She has 3 kids and now 8 grand kids.  It’s crowded, noisy, and chaotic organization, but in a fun kind of way.  A few years ago, after she was pronounced cancer free, she and my brother-in-law went on a two-week cruise during the holidays.  It was the first time my little family celebrated Christmas at the beach.  It’s where we’ve spent it since.

I can no longer imagine not spending Christmas at the beach.  It’s a quiet, special Christmas.  What can be better than taking a walk on the beach Christmas morning?  Then coming home and watching Willow open her stocking and Pocket’s stocking, too.

Scuba Man and I then open our gifts to each other.  We have a nice breakfast and just enjoy being together on such a special day.  I cook a turkey dinner for the two of us as our Christmas feast.  It’s a perfect day.

I love spending time with my family, but at Christmas, with all the kids jumping with excitement and opening gifts at the same time, so much is missed.  Maybe it’s my age, but I would rather have the quiet.

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’ll be home for Christmas

  1. barb19 says:

    Sounds like a perfect Christmas at the beach Nancy! I know what you mean about kids jumping with excitement, squealing with delight when opening their presents. etc. It all gets a bit too much.
    We live a long way from family, so enjoy a nice peaceful and quiet Christmas, and we prefer it that way (you are probably right, it must be the age!)
    However, this year my close friend and her hub are driving up to spend three days with us over the holiday – and our youngest son has asked to come with them (they all live in the same town), so we are looking forward to the company this year for a change. No excited kids though, just adults!

  2. Seashell says:

    Sounds like a wonderful Christmas for you Barb. It’s always nice to spend a holiday with close friends.

  3. I love Christmas day on the beach. However, the last three years we have been at home it has rained. This year we are in France near the alps and it will probably snow!
    I can imagine your beach house all decorated 🙂

  4. Seashell says:

    I’ll have to post a picture if I remember to take the camera!

  5. I know what you mean about getting used to spending a holiday like this away from home. Every year for my birthday, we go to our beach house, and it just wouldn’t feel the same without it!

Leave a Reply

