I’ve never been is so much physical pain

Several years ago, when we were living in Houston, I fell down the steps at a friend’s house.  The result was a dislocated shoulder with a rotator cuff torn in 3 places.

No, this was not a wild party.  We were at our dive instructor’s house for a class so we could be certified as rescue divers.  Other than my fall down the stairs, it was a very enjoyable evening.

We were invited for dinner.  Before we could eat, Scuba Man got a call from work, so he went up to the loft area to get on the computer.  I took him a plate of food while he was up there.   As I was walking down the steps, I slipped.  My two choices were to just fall all the way down into a very nice wooden occasional table, with lots of pretty things on it, or to hold tight to the rail and stop myself.

I guess you figured out which I did.  When it happened, I felt a momentary pain and then the adrenalin kicked in.  I finished dinner and we did the training class.  Although my shoulder hurt some, it wasn’t bad enough to think there was something seriously wrong.  Until I had to do the practical part of class.  While trying to show I knew how to do mouth-to-mouth resuscitation, I couldn’t use my arm!

It starting hurting more and more as the evening wore down.  When we got into the truck, I tried to prop my arm up on the center console.  It was really, really hurting.  As we started to drive, every time we hit a bump, it was excruciating!  I could not stop crying, it hurt so bad.

We didn’t make it home.  Scuba Man drove me directly to the emergency room.  They gave me an ice pack to put on it while we were waiting.  I sat there with tears streaming down my face.

When they finally called me back into a room, I still sat there crying.  Yes, I am a BIG sissy when it comes to pain, and this was the worse ever.  After the taking of the vitals and a bit of a longer wait, the doctor finally came in.  He took one look at my face and told the nurse to get in IV going.  A few minutes later, he came back with another doctor and told me they were going to put my shoulder back in its socket.

My response was “Oh no you’re not!”  I was already in so much pain I could not imagine moving my shoulder.  Then, he pulled out the lovely, magical syringe filled with a sweet elixir and squirted it into my IV line.  In an instant, I could feel no pain at all.  I was in heaven!  Scuba Man said it was incredible how I just stopped crying and started smiling.  They wrapped a sheet around my torso, then one doctor pulled my shoulder and the other pulled my body, in the opposite direction, with the sheet.  My shoulder was back in place.

The rest is history.  A two am. trip to the drug store to get the prescription for pain killers filled, an orthopaedic visit, a MRI, surgery, and lots of physical therapy.

I can’t help but wonder what was in that syringe and how I could get some more when I ache so bad I don’t want to move!

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve never been is so much physical pain

  1. As a fellow whimp I can just imagine the pain. I only tore a ligament in my arm and that was bad enough!

  2. That sounds like such a horrible experience! I’m so sorry you had to go through it!

Leave a Reply

