where secrets lie

I just finished my first LibraryThing Member Giveaway book, Where Secrets Lie by Donna Marie Lanheady.

I found this book to be very engrossing, to the point that I couldn’t go to bed until I finished it.  I was reading it on the bus, and would have missed my stop if one of the regulars hadn’t spoken up.

It’s the story of two sisters, their mom, and their step-dad.  Each woman is keeping a secret.  The book spans the day of the parents 20th wedding anniversary and the memories of Sara, Katie, and Lee.

Sara is the older of the two sisters.  Her husband hopes every month that she will get  pregnant, not knowing that she takes birth control pills.  She’s not yet ready to be pregnant but doesn’t tell her husband because then she would have to explain why.  Her memories are about a high school relationship that helped shape who she is today and why she is keeping her past secret.

Katie is the younger sister.  She is in a wonderful relationship, but the secret she is keeping from her parents is a big issue in it.  An issue that needs to be resolved.  She thinks back to when she started keeping the secret, why she hid the truth, and how her current relationship came to be.

Lee, the girl’s mom, abhors secrets even though she has some of her own.  She keeps them to herself to avoid the pain the secrets cause her.  Her memories deal with her life before Jack, her husband and the girl’s step-dad.  Her life with Paul, her former husband.  Secrets about Paul are also revealed, which came as quite a shock to me.

The book is easy to relate to as everyone has a least one secret they are keeping that could affect their current relationship with their loved ones.  It also made me wonder who is keeping secrets from me!

I loved the characters in the story.  I very much enjoyed the journey through each woman’s past and how it formed who she is today.  The story is so well written, I could see it in my mind, almost like a movie.

I do admit I didn’t like the ending.  It seemed to end too abruptly.  The ending was a shock to me.  Maybe because I just wasn’t ready for the story to end.  I wanted to stay in this family’s lives a little longer.  I highly recommend reading this book.

A BIG shout out to Mike at the Mike/Mitch Project for introducing me to LibraryThing.

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to where secrets lie

  1. barb19 says:

    Hmmm, intriguing – sounds like my kind of book Shell! I must get it – thanks for the great review!

    • Seashell says:

      I don’t know if it comes in book form, as I read it on my Kindle app. But, the Kindle application can be downloaded for free to any computer, pad, or smart phone. These LibraryThing giveaways are great for getting to know new authors and spreading the word about them.

  2. barb19 says:

    Bummer – I don’t have a Kindle.

    • Seashell says:

      Barb,
      Amazon offers a free Kindle application that you can download to your computer, or smart phone. That’s what I did. I don’t own a Kindle either! You may want to try that. There are so many free eBooks out there and so many free applications to read them on.

      • barb19 says:

        Got it! Thanks Shell, I didn’t know about it. I saw the book for $2.99.
        Now tell me about these Library Thing giveaways!

        • Seashell says:

          LibraryThing.com is a world wide site for people that love to read. You can keep a list of your books up there. Those you have, those you’ve read, those you would like to read. It’s a community of readers, with chats, book reviews, and the such. Each month they have give aways by people who would like you to read their book and review it. There are also Early Reviews give aways where you are asked to read a book that will hit the stores soon and do a review. I’ve started my second give away book and it’s good. I thought it might just be crappy writers trying to get good reviews, but it’s really quality writing and good story lines. It’s an awesome site!

  3. Sounds like a great read! It’s always so satisfying to be engrossed in a book you just can’t put down!

Leave a Reply

