I would like to kill an inanimate object…

and that inanimate object is my work laptop.  I’m not a violent person at all, but sometimes you just get so frustrated that you want to take it out on the object of your frustration!

My laptop in an HP.  It doesn’t seem to be a bad laptop.  It was used by others before me, so there is a lot of crap on it that I don’t need.  But, that’s not the problem.  A complete virus scan is automatically run once a week, so no issues there.

The problem is it doesn’t want to start up when I take it from one location to the next.  This happens every time I take it home from the office and then again every time I take it back into the office.  It has one issue after another.  This has happened from the first time I ever brought it home.  I do a complete log off and shut down before I move it, so I don’t think that is any part of the problem.  It has no problem doing a restart once it has been started at the new location.

Although the sticker on the laptop says it’s running Windows Vista, it’s really running Windows XP Professional.  That’s one of the problems.  Windows stinks, even though XP is so much better than Vista.  Most of the time, it will get to the login page for Windows when I first start up.

I hit ctrl-alt-delete to login in and nothing happens.  Nothing.  The screen just stares at me as if I were a ghost and my fingers couldn’t touch the keyboard.  It’s like Bill Gates is mocking me, telling me he has control over my life.  He holds the control, and alt, and delete for my world and right now he’s controlling it because I hate Windows!

I can’t log in, I can’t log out, I can’t shut down.  I have to power off, which is not a good way to shut down a computer.  I leave it sit for a minute or two and turn it back on.  I have to repeat this process several times (if I’m lucky) before I can actually get to the login screen.

When I do get to the login screen, it’s hit or miss as to whether I will be able to log in.  I’ll start to type my login name and the cursor will stop half-way through and just sit there…and sit there…and sit there.  Again, even if I ctrl-alt-delete, it still just sits there.  I have to power off again.

Eventually, I will be allowed to log in.  When I do, it will usually take 20 – 30 minutes for all the various programs the State puts on there to run.  And I’m being paid for this waste of time.  It’s ridiculous.

I’m sitting here now, watching the little green disk light flash off and on, waiting for the login page.  I’ve been at it for more than 1 and 1/2 hours!  That’s right, 1 and 1/2 hours just trying to start working.  It has just sat there on the login screen every time I’ve turned it on.  Once this morning, I actually got to the login screen, but the cursor stopped half-way through my login name.  It sat there.  There was no disk activity for several minutes so I had to power it off.

The help desk is NOT helpful at all.  If they can’t figure out what’s wrong with it, they want to ghost it (copy the whole disk drive, programs and all), wipe the disk clean, and ghost it back down.  Anyone who has ever had their machine ‘ghosted’ knows this always leads to problems.  They will not wipe the disk and rebuild it from scratch, even though all of my files are saved on the server, not my laptop.

I need to look online to see if I can find how to put an end to this. I have admin rights on my laptop, so I can do anything that is necessary to get it fixed short of wiping it clean and rebuilding.  I don’t have access to the software.   I’m pretty smart, I can figure this out.

Hey, I finally was able to log in!  It only took 2 hours and 15 minutes.  Maybe all the start up programs will finish starting up within a 1/2 hour and I’ll be able to get to work.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I would like to kill an inanimate object…

  1. melsar93 says:

    I think the clear solution is to just never log off or shutdown the computer. the Help desk guys will love that.

  2. barb19 says:

    It might be time to buy a brand new laptop shell!

    • Seashell says:

      I wish! It’s extremely hard to get the State Government to buy something new, especially when they talk about cutting the budget constantly. They won’t let us use our own laptops. 😦

  3. How impossibly annoying! I’m so, so sorry, Shell!

    This is just one very small example of why cutting budgets is not a good idea, but I will refrain from talking politics here.

  4. Oldcat says:

    I actually have seen this kind of thing before – it was when I got references to network computers in some often accessed lists in the registry. If the computer is running on the network, then it comes up fast, if it is NOT, then things that take seconds can take hours.

    I solved it by searching through the regstry for the ‘\\’ string that is the introducer for a network computer name, and deleting all of them. Network mapped hard disks can also be an issue — when drive Z is a reference to a drive on the network.

Leave a Reply

