5 things I’m afraid to write about

Disclaimer:  This is a lame post so don’t expect brilliancy!

This was a daily topic from a couple of months ago that I didn’t use at the time, so here it is.

  1. Sex.  This is for two reasons.  One reason is talk about sex doesn’t belong on my type of blog.  The other is because y’all would probably think I’m some horrible pervert.  I’ve been told that I write very good erotica, but it’s not something I’m going to share with you.  I wouldn’t want to lose you as a reader by writing about something that may make you uncomfortable.
  2. My very strong political opinions.  I do write about stupid politics, but I try to stay away from controversial topics (abortion,  bailouts, etc.).  I don’t want to lose any readers who don’t share my strong political beliefs, so I avoid writing about them.  Believe me, this is a very hard thing for me to do!
  3. Rants about people who may read this blog.  I don’t want someone I know to read a rant about themselves when I’ve never told them face to face how I feel.  It would be embarrassing to both of us the next time we communicated with each other.  And, I wouldn’t want that to happen to me as a reader, either.
  4. Specific, stupid “how things are done” where I work.  Every work environment is different.  If I work somewhere that I think things are being done stupidly, it’s my opinion.  I don’t want future employers to come across my blog and think they shouldn’t hire me because I could write bad things about them too.
  5. Lies about people.  Can you say slander?  or defamation?  With the amount of lawsuits being throw around, I don’t want to be sued by anyone.  Plus, I think lying is just plain wrong.

What are the topics you are afraid to write about?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 5 things I’m afraid to write about

  1. melsar93 says:

    I have written and deleted #4 type posts a couple times (not on this blog, but on my previous one.)

  2. LeRoy Dean says:

    Nothing lame about this blog, Seashell. Your blogs are heartfelt. I find the honesty refreshing.

  3. Things I’m afraid to write about: The biggest thing is personal info about mine & Dusty’s life because of Dusty’s family. Michele, you read first hand last Christmas what Dusty’s sister twisted around a simple post that Dusty’s brother had died. His family have long reaching fingers in just about everybody’s business. There are so many things that I have wanted to share and couldn’t because it would be blown out of control. Oh well, guess I’ll stick with the telephone for any good news or updates.

  4. I think Sex and Politics are always “hot” topics as in hot potatoes 🙂

    Religion and Racism are two topics I would never post about and I’m even a little dubious about leaving comments on these topics as well as you can easily be miscontrued.
    If I don’t get back across the ATlantic before Christmas now. Have a good one!!!

    • Seashell says:

      I guess I can’t write about racism because it doesn’t seem to be prevalent where I live. As far as religion, I am a Christian, a faithful believer. If I incorporate that into a post every now and again, and it offends someone, I’m sorry. That is one thing I will not compromise on, even if it causes me to lose readers. But, that’s faith, not really religion. Religion is faith with politics.

      Have a very Happy Christmas, PiP!

  5. barb19 says:

    Shell, this is not a lame post at all, it’s just the opposite in fact!
    Personally, I would never write about sex, politics or religion because of my strong opinions on all three, and we are all entitled to our own opinions, so I feel they are best left alone.

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Barb! Religion…not sure about that one. I don’t have strong opinions about religion, but I do about faith. Two entirely different things to me.

      Merry Christmas Barb!

  6. I totally agree with keeping those things off of the blogging table. I’m very tentative about mentioning faith or politics in my posts. I talk about them a lot in daily life, but I’d hate to offend anyone or start an argument. I’m thinking about doing more opinion pieces this year, but they’re going to be about topics like sexism, which are less controversial.

    I only really stop censoring myself on tumblr and get particularly liberal, but I figure that there it’s easy to skip through those posts and look at the fashion pictures, photographs, and book quotes instead!

  7. Seashell says:

    I actually love debating politics, but it’s hard to do unless it’s face to face.

Leave a Reply

