reflections on my post-a-day journey

This is the WordPress topic of the day.  I didn’t complete my post a day journey, and I’m fine with that.  I wanted to write a post every day because I love to write and want to get better at it.  But, sometimes things don’t work out the way we plan.

When I started the challenge, my blog wasn’t much.  I had posted a couple of times and that was it.  I’m not even sure I had anyone read what I had posted.  I was just writing for me.  Although readers are nice, at the time all I cared about was writing.

My blog evolved over time, because I began to care about writing something good, something my readers would enjoy reading.  This became harder and harder to do.  I got stuck for good topics.  I sometimes didn’t have the time to produce a good post and would be unhappy with what I posted just so I wouldn’t miss a day.  Not only did I feel I was letting my readers down, but I was letting myself down, too.

I felt that posting every day was getting to be a chore, not a pleasure.  I stopped posting every day.  At first, I felt terrible about it.  I felt like I failed.  But, I also felt that the posts I was writing were getting better.  I had more time to think about them before I put the words to paper.

The biggest problem I had was having no strategy.  I had no discipline to sit down and write at a certain time, for a certain amount of words.  I started to realise that maybe writing wasn’t as important to me as I thought it would be.  It was a hard realisation.  If I could go back to the beginning, I think I would have joined the post a week folks.

My biggest accomplishment through all of this was putting myself out there.  I’m not a very outgoing person, although blogging is helping to change that.  I continue to write because of that.  It helps boost my social ability.  Also, I still do love to write.

I have come across so many wonderful blogs by joining the post a day challenge.  Those that come to the forefront of my mind are those who have been able to stick with the challenge and continue to write interesting posts.  Eleanor Called Ella writes about growing up.  She is an incredible writer and many times, her posts just blow me away.  At the age of 18, she writes with a maturity well beyond her years.  I have no doubts that I will see her name on novels in the future.

The Mike/Mitch Project is Mike, a renegade chef, writing about working his way through every recipe in Mitch Omer’s Damn Good Food cookbook.  Mike has a great sense of humor that shows through in his posts.  I’m sure he’s gained a few pounds also!  I can’t wait to see what he has in store for next year.

Butch, at Wordsmith’s Desk, is a constant inspiration.  He writes about faith and about looking inside of ourselves.  He makes me look at my faith and myself through different eyes.  His posts give me strength.

What surprised me most about the challenge is the blogging friends I have made.  I have some great blogging buddies, not only those above, but those in my favorite blogs list on the sidebar.  These are people who cheer me on, give me good advice/suggestions, and just make me feel good inside.  I thank them all.

I was also surprised at how hard it was.  Hard to think of a topic and hard to find the time.  My advice to anyone who wants to do a post every day is to make the time.  It takes time to think of a topic.  It takes time to put those thoughts into words, and it takes time to revise.  Also, make it fun!  If it becomes a chore, your writing will reflect it.  I know this by experience.

I’m not sure what my blogging goals are for 1012.  Maybe it will be to get this blog back on track of reaching the beach.  What ever it is, you can be sure I’ll still be blogging.

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to reflections on my post-a-day journey

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    I am proud of you and for you.

  2. From what I’ve read of your blogs, you are a VERY good writer and hold my interest from the first sentence, I could not do what you do and I have ALLTHE TIME in the world, lol. I think mostly because of my moods and the majority of my blogs would depress any readers. I did however write a Children’s book and it’s been published. The second book is half finished. I can entertain children, but when it comes to adults…forget it. That takes talent I don’t have . Give Scuba Man a hug from me.

    • Seashell says:

      You always amuse me! I think it’s that whole “we never grew up” thing. 🙂 Thank you for your kind words. I couldn’t do what you do either, actually write a book? That’s impressive. You know I’ll gladly give Scuba Man a hug from you. It’s so much fun! Love you cuz!

  3. Thank you so much for mentioning me in your post and for the compliments! That means so much to me!

    I’ve LOVED your posts this year, and I can’t WAIT to see what you write in 2012!

    And thank you for becoming my first regular reader who didn’t already know me in real life! Getting your comments and likes on my daily posts really encourages me to keep writing! It’s so wonderful to know that there is someone out there who cares! I never thought that blogging would make me internet friends and pull me out of my online wallflower presence, but it did, and I could not be happier!

    So here’s to a successful year of blogging in 2011 and to another year of post about our lives on the internet in 2012! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

