this is why I’m at the beach

I open the bedroom door this morning and Willow runs in, jumps up on me, and starts licking my face.  She’s so happy I’m finally up.  I walk into the bright and sunny living room.  The windows are open, letting in the smell of the ocean.  It’s 65 degrees but feels warmer with the humidity. I can tell it’s going to be a beautiful day.

If we were in Richmond, it wouldn’t feel the same.  Willow wouldn’t be saying good morning in the bedroom, she would wait until I got downstairs.  She usually doesn’t greet me with puppy kisses either, unless she’s allowed to wake me up while I’m still in bed.  She still will get a little excited and maybe chase the cat, but she’s a much happier dog when we’re here.  She shows her excitement more often.

When I come into the living room in Richmond, it won’t be bright.  Although both houses face south, because of the layout of the Richmond house, it doesn’t get a lot of sunshine.  The living room is on the back side of the house.  The windows in the front are shaded by the porch roof.  It’s never as bright as it is here with 8 windows and no walls in the front part of the house.

Rarely would the windows be open this time of the year in Richmond.  The temperatures here is 66, it’s only in the lower 50’s there.  The humidity here makes it feel warmer even when the temperatures are the same.  Plus, we have no trees here to give shade, so there is nothing to make it feel cooler if there’s not a breeze.

here is where I want to stay.

There is no smell of the ocean in Richmond.  ‘Nuff said.

Rarely do I wake up and know it’s going to be a beautiful day in Richmond.  Again, I think it’s because of the windows.  I loved the house in Richmond when we bought it, but I didn’t realise how the lack of a lot of windows would make it feel so drab.

We’ll spend the day walking on the beach, playing with Willow.  All four of us will probably nap in the afternoon, snoozing on the sofa with the sun shining in and a soft breeze blowing.  We may bring in the new year by a bonfire on the beach, with friends in the bistro across highway 12, or just out on the deck looking at the incredible sky.

It’s the last day of 2011 and I am right where I want to be, right where I want to stay.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to this is why I’m at the beach

  1. megtraveling says:

    The beach looks lovely!

  2. hApPy NeW yEaR Shell. I know exactly waht you mean about the beach and the smell of the ocean. If you could bottle happiness we would be millionaires…but are millionaires happy?

    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      I think we’re happier than millionaires! I can’t imagine a millionaire taking a walk on the beach and just sit in the sand to watch the ocean. They’d may be doing it from an ocean front house, but being there is more fun. Although a full time gentlemen’s gentleman would be nice…

  3. barb19 says:

    It sound perfect right where you are Shell!
    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  4. What a beautiful picture of the beach!

Leave a Reply

