a new beginning – every day

Why do we anticipate the turning of the calendar to a new year?  Why is it that we stay up until midnight on New Year’s Eve, even if we’re just sitting at home watching Dick Clark on television, waiting for the ball to drop so we can go to bed?  Why is it that midnight seems to mark a new beginning for us?

I admit, we are two of those people who, most of the time, are at home watching festivities on television.  We rarely go out on New Year’s Eve.  Midnight comes, we hug & kiss each other, hug Willow & Pockets, then go to bed.  We leave such exciting lives!  🙂

Yet, we still stay up to see the new year in.  We still think of it as a new beginning, a chance for a better year than last year.  By January 2, it’s just another year gone by.

Isn’t every day a new beginning?  After all, isn’t today a chance for a better day than yesterday?  Shouldn’t we celebrate each new day as we do each new year?

I’m not talking about the big parties, the clinking of glasses, and staying up until midnight.  It’s the attitude.  Why don’t we wake up every day thinking “Yesterday wasn’t that good/bad, but it’s a whole new day, a new beginning, a chance for a better day.”

I’m sure some people do.  You may be one of them.  I don’t think the majority of people do, though.  Most, and I am one of them, go through each day as if it’s just another day, nothing to be excited about.  Just trying to get to the weekend, or a day off, or vacation.  I don’t wake up in the morning thinking it’s a chance for a new beginning.

It makes me sad.  I should be celebrating each new day!  I should think of all the new possibilities the day holds, even if it’s a work day.  Even if it’s a day where I have to do something I don’t want to do, or go somewhere I don’t want to go.

How do I change my mind-set?  How do I wake up every morning feeling like I do on New Year’s Day?

I’m sure some of you readers do that.  Can you please share your secret?

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a new beginning – every day

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Like the post. My first thoughts each morning are, “thank You for this day…”

  2. Value you what you have.
    Live simply.
    Take delight in simple pleasures.
    Live “now” and be happy!

  3. barb19 says:

    When I was in the workforce, I didn’t value each new day but since I retired, my attitude has changed; I have to structure my days now, otherwise they all just roll into one and before I know it, a week has gone or a month – and what can I show for it? So I have learned to discipline myself to retirement and I DO wake up with that feeling of “It’s a new day, what can I do with it”. I even write things down of what I want to accomplish tomorrow!
    You’re right Shell – New Year is not the only time of new beginnings, every single day is!

    • Seashell says:

      I think I would value each day more If I wasn’t in the workforce full time. It’s sometimes hard to value the day to the fullest when the commute and working fill up 12 hours of your day, and most of the remaining time is chores. But, I’m working on it!

  4. shobavish says:

    We seem to be in a similar emotional place this first week of this new year – like you, I am experiencing a feeling of new energy from the new beginning and I am looking for ways to make it part of my daily life. I am happy to feel re-focused and one of my goals for this year is to keep this feeling of clarity and energy that comes with a fresh start….

  5. Shell, just let me say that your writing has improved so much over this past year of blogging! I LOVED this post! It goes to show what discipline and practice will do for you!

    You make such a great point about how we’ve just arbitrarily chosen January 1st to be the first day of a new year. We could pick any day at all and it wouldn’t matter!

    I make lists and try to retain that childlike anything-is-possible optimistic attitude. Sometimes, I can’t complete what I set out to do, but having an eagar, optimistic, and curious outlook on life keeps me going.

    Plus, when it comes to resolutions, I try to be as realistic as possible. This will probably not be the year that I get great abs, but it is totally possible for me to cut my mile time to under eight minutes. The confidence from fulfilling a goal, makes accomplishing the next one easier.

    But I’m sure that my boundless enthusiasm is partially because I’m so young. I get to be wonderfully naive and unrealistic the way that adults can’t. I’m eighteen–I’ve got my whole life out ahead of me–and everything seems possible. I hope that I can retain this feeling as I grow older.

    • Seashell says:

      First, thank you so very much for your encouragement! It’s because of my closest blogging buddies that I are trying hard to improve my writing.

      Please, please hold onto those feelings as you grow older. As we grow up, go out into the world as adults with so much more responsibility, it feels so hard to hold on. I didn’t, but I’m searching for that wonderful ride again and will hold on with all my might when I find it.

Leave a Reply

