things that boggle my mind

I know there are a lot of people in my life that think I’m different, a little strange.  But even those of us who do think a bit out of the box have things that boggle our minds.  Here’s a few of my mind boggles…

Women who talk on their cell phone in the ladies room.  Seriously?  What’s up with that?  What is so important that it can’t wait a few minutes?  Maybe they are someone who can’t stand to be just sitting calmly for a minute or two.  Or maybe they think it gives them privacy, but I’ve heard many a conversation through the stalls.  In a 14 story building, there are other places to find privacy!  Put the stupid phone down for a few minutes and give yourself and others a couple of minutes of peace.

Parents that don’t discipline their children.  Maybe it’s wrong for me to say this because I don’t have kids, but I have spent lots of time taking care of my nieces and nephews.  I never have disciple issues with them.  I see so many parents yell at their kids, but when the kids still don’t listen, nothing happens but more yelling.  Whatever happened to punishment?  The nieces and nephews knew that if I had to tell them to stop more than once, they were going to have consequences, a time out sitting alone in a chair or something like that.  Sending them to their room isn’t effective when they have toys, TVs, computers, Wiis and whatnot there.  I have been accused of being mean more than once, but they always listened.

Couples that go to dinner and spend all their time sitting across from each other with their noses buried in their phones texting others.  Why bother to go out?  Just sit home and text! ‘Nuff said.

People driving while doing everything else other than pay attention to their driving: putting on make-up, curling their hair (yes I actually did see a woman doing that while on the way to work one morning, on the interstate!), eating, texting or dialling a phone, turning around to yell at their kids, etc.  You’re in control of something that could be a deadly weapon!  Shouldn’t you be paying attention to controlling it?

Do many people need this kind of house or is it a status symbol? (ABC News)

People who constantly complain about having no money or being deep in debt, yet still frivolously spend money.  These are the people who buy much more house than they need to be in the ‘right’ neighborhood.  They take the expensive, fancy vacations every year, sometimes more than one a year.  The ones who have a house full of “things” just to keep up with the Joneses.  The people who will buy a new car just because theirs is a few years old.  Yet, those are the same people who think we are rich because we own a beach house, not thinking about the fact that we haven’t had an expensive vacation in years, we don’t care about keeping up the Joneses, and we drive older vehicles (7 years and 12 years old).

I guess I’m being a little harsh here, but everyone needs a little rant now and then!  🙂

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to things that boggle my mind

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Good points…we are like-minded and then some.

  2. Definitely agree with you on all of these!

    I’m amazed at some of the things people do while driving. I’ve seen a woman doing a crossword puzzle, another using dental floss, a man eating soup, a motorcyclist texting! Sometimes it’s very scary to be on the road…

  3. barb19 says:

    I must say, I agree with you on all these points – some people and their cell phones seem to be attached at the hip; they need to get a life.
    Rant away Shell – it’s good for the soul!

    • Seashell says:

      Although I’ve had a mobile since they were those clunky big things in bags, I still don’t like them. I don’t often carry mine and usually forget to take it out of my backpack when I get home from work!

Leave a Reply

