the snowy holiday weekend

Even though it was a three-day weekend for us, Scuba man wasn’t feeling well, so we didn’t go to the beach.  The weekend started off with a busy Saturday.  Once I was through with coffee, the fun began!  4 loads of laundry washed, dried, and even put away.  The laundry faerie was in rare form.

I managed to clean out the messy, I can never find anything in this, pantry.  It’s amazing how much room I have in there now.  I also started cleaning out the kitchen cabinets and drawers.  I have a charity shop pile started.  I’ve cleaned up enough space be able to put some counter clutter inside the cabinets.  I still have a way to go in both the cabinet clean out and the counter clutter, but it really felt good to get it started.

It was a beautiful Saturday.  We had the heat off and a couple of windows open to let in the fresh air.  With Scuba man being sick, the fresh air was helping him to feel better.  I don’t like having to have the house closed up so much in the winter, so we really take advantage of any semi-warm days to air out.

Sunday was a true day of rest, maybe even laziness.  We did nothing productive.  We took a day to ourselves.  I did a little writing and a lot of reading.  It was such a nice relaxing day.  It started snowing late morning and snowed all day long.  The ground was still warm from yesterday, so the snow didn’t start sticking until dinner time. By the time we went to bed, it looked like we had around 4 inches of the fluffy, white stuff.  It was such a pretty sight!

By Monday morning, the snow was already starting to melt. It was a day off of work for both of us.  It is President’s Day, a federal holiday to celebrate the births of George Washington, the first President of the United States, and Abe Lincoln, the President who abolished slavery.  I got a little work done, wrote for a while, had my second acupuncture treatment, and fixed a good dinner.  I even found time for a short nap!

All in all, it was a very relaxing, long weekend.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the snowy holiday weekend

  1. barb19 says:

    Sounds like a perfect weekend Shell! Hope you are feeling revitalized!

  2. Sounds like a nice weekend! The laundry faerie was busy at my house, too!

Leave a Reply

