giving up Facebook for Lent

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, for those that follow the Christian calendar.  It marks the beginning of Lent.  Lent is the penitential preparation of the believer.  One of the ways to prepare is through self-denial.

Although many believe that fasting has to be the self-denial, it’s not all about giving up a certain food.  While reading another blog about Lent, the writer asked what would be the hardest thing for you to give up?  I thought about the usual things people give up, such as chocolate, soda, alcohol, etc.  But I don’t eat or drink those every day, so I didn’t think that would be the hardest thing.

Then I started thinking about what I did day-to-day.  I am on Facebook every single day!  It’s like an obsession.  I have to stay caught up on all the news of family and friends.  That would be the hardest thing for me to give up, no doubt.

The funny thing about it is, I am not a religious person.  I haven’t gone to church on a regular basis since we moved from Texas.  It surprised me that I even thought of doing this, much less take action and do it.

I have a very strong faith in God.  I pray daily.  I read the Bible.  I have felt much more spiritual the last several months.  Maybe it’s because of meditation, or really trying to have less stress in my life.  I don’t know or care.  It just is what it is, and I’m comfortable with it.

Giving up FB is going to be very hard.  I made a final update stating I was giving it up for Lent and explaining my blog posts will still automatically appear as updates. I’ve enlisted the help of Scuba Man to remind me every day of what I gave up.  I’m prone to forgetfulness.

I am going to miss the almost daily photos my nieces post of the kids, the biggest reason I even keep my FB account.  But, if I want to, I can always go back and look at them after Easter.

I am hoping I can get myself weaned from FB, cold turkey.  Then I can go back and eliminate everyone’s updates except for those I am extremely close to, mainly a few family members.  I love them the most and love seeing their updates and photos.

Did you give up anything for Lent?

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to giving up Facebook for Lent

  1. Jeremey says:

    Cool, I wish you luck! I have one suggestion, if you are prone to forgetfulness then simply remember to not lay in the prone. LOL!
    Seriously though good luck. I usually give up meats and only eat what comes from the ground but since Mel is preggo we are not doing it this year. BTW, I hope I’m not one of those people you are going to delete, am I? If so there is always Gootle+

    • Seashell says:

      You know I would never delete you! You are one of “those I am extremely close to, mainly a few family members. I love them the most and love seeing their updates and photos.” Besides, I just know you’re going to posts lots and lots of photos of Caleb when he finally gets here!

  2. barb19 says:

    Good luck with that Shell!

  3. Pingback: being connected…being unplugged | seashell by the seashore

Leave a Reply

