I caved in to the Hunger Games trilogy

I caved in to reading the Hunger Games Trilogy.  After 2 of my nieces and my sister, who has never been much of a reader, raved about the books, I thought they must be something worth reading.  Plus, my niece has all three books, which I borrowed.

Even though I haven’t had a lot of time to read the last week or so, I finished the first one rather quickly and am half way through the second one.  The books are written for young adults, but like the Harry Potter books, adults enjoy them a lot also.  I love the plot lines and the characters are so well written you feel like they’re friends.

These are the type of books you want to make time to read.  They are especially on point given the freedoms that have been taken away from Americans, by the government, in the last 10+ years, along with the government demanding what is mandatory for Americans to buy.  The government in the book mandates a lot of things and has peacekeepers to enforce the mandates.  It’s not a way you would want to live.  It’s not the direction this country should take.

I fully expect to miss the story and characters once I finish all three books.  I’ll want to know more of the story of their lives.  I highly recommend you read them.

This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I caved in to the Hunger Games trilogy

  1. D took the youngest daughter to see the movie last weekend; she has read all three books, he plans to start now. They enjoyed the movie especially because it stayed true to the book.

  2. barb19 says:

    I haven’t read the books yet, but the movie is now showing in Oz, and I’d like to see it.
    However, I have a dilemma – should I read the books before seeing the movie? It looks and sounds so good!

    • Seashell says:

      From what I understand, the movie sticks very close to the book, so in this case I’m not sure it matters. I usually don’t have that dilemma because I usually just read the book and skip the movie until it’s on DVD, but I’m excited about seeing this movie!

  3. melsar93 says:

    We read the first book aloud as a family and are going to see the movie this weekend. Both daughters have read all three books, but I am waiting until our long car ride this summer to read the rest aloud with everyone.

Leave a Reply

