being connected…being unplugged

When I gave up Facebook for Lent, I thought it would be hard.  It was at first, but then it became easier.  Much easier.  To the point that I didn’t get on FB until the Tuesday after Easter.  When I did, I started “unfriending” people I never interact with and unsubscribing to the posts of others.  It’s kind of nice, because I now only see posts from my family and very close friends.  It’s lessened my time on FB to practically nothing.

This actually was not my intended goal of why I gave up FB for Lent.  My goal was to give up something that would be very hard to do without.  No longer caring very much about FB is a sense of freedom.  It doesn’t take up my time anymore.

I wish I could be that way about other things on the internet.  It’s very hard.  I am subscribed to 15 or so blogs, some of which are daily.  After the events of the last several weeks, and vacation.  I am way far behind on reading them.  But, I’ll get to them all eventually.

I’m tired of interacting with people through social media!  Yes, it’s great to keep up with family and friends, especially long distance friends.  I feel the need to have more face to face contact though.  I need this type of interaction, but it’s hard with not having many friends here.

As I was catching up this morning on TED Talks that I’ve missed, this one really hit home with me.  I don’t want to be a person who can’t have a conversation, who only has internet friends.  I almost feel like I’m turning into that person.  But, for this past week, I haven’t interacted much at all online.  That’s a good thing.  It’s time for me to really start connecting in person.

Here’s a shout out to Ella for introducing me to TED Talks.  I’ve been hooked ever since!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to being connected…being unplugged

  1. I think there is a balance. I don’t use FB much, in fact I detest FB. I love blogging because it has opened my mind to so many new ideas and to people all over the world, some I will meet others not. My real life friends are different. their conversations limited and their frame of reference narrow.
    My blog is almost a diary of my life and one day my kids and grandkids will look back on it when I’m not around. They will know me as I am now and as I get older. My Mum is now almost a shell and there is no record of her life as to what she felt about her daily life.
    Hey ho… 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      I find it a little sad that the lives of my mom and my gramps are not recorded somewhere. I think it would be so great to learn more about my mom’s life and how she felt about things. We talked a lot, but there’s still so much I’d love to know. As for my gramps, he was full of stories of his childhood and his marriage to my buscia. I didn’t appreciate them until after I got married, and then I couldn’t get enough. The one good thing about this technology is that our future generations won’t have this problem.

  2. barb19 says:

    I loved the TED talk, this lady is talking my language. Social media is fine, but it has it’s place – I miss conversations with friends face to face, seeing their physical reactions in our conversations. We have almost lost the art of letter writing by hand (remember what a pleasure is was to receive a letter from someone?) Let’s not lose the art of conversation.
    We don’t have to give up technology, but we do have to have a balance. Real life is out there, ready for us to take it by the hand and enjoy it!
    Great post Shell!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Barb. I’d love to have the opportunity to visit down under so we could have real face to face conversations! Maybe one of these years….

  3. barb19 says:

    Shell, I think we would have the most interesting of conversations face to face!

  4. YAYYYY!!! I’m so glad that you’ve been enjoying TED Talks as much as I have! I love being able to share the things I’m passionate about with friends! And thank you for the link back to my blog! Did you see the new Bréne Brown talk about vulnerability? I just loved it.

Leave a Reply

