it’s nice to know I’m not the only one

I haven’t been blogging, or even reading blogs, very much lately.  I’ve been in a funk which I am struggling to get out of.  Work has been very busy, which hasn’t helped.  This week I’ve been working on some very calculation intense materialized views.  To those non IT people, it means they take a long time between pressing the button and getting the results.  A long time is like, maybe 3 to 5 minutes for me.

As a result, I’ve had a few minutes here and there to catch up on my blog reading.  One of the posts I read really hit home with me.  Julie wrote a post on George, Jessie, Love that explains what I’ve felt.  Julie writes about embracing her curls.  She likes them better because of a new product she tried.  She wrote about how she hopes this will help her get her mojo back.

The funny part is, last week I decided to get my hair cut shorter at my next appointment this coming Monday.  Since then, I’ve been eager to get it done.  Maybe, like Julie’s curls, it’s what I need.  Something totally out of the ordinary for me.

Yes, for me, getting the hair cut shorter is shocking.  For the last 20 years, or longer, I’ve never really had a haircut, just a trim to get rid of the dead ends.  I think it will surprise everyone when they see it.

Sometimes, we just need to embrace something different to get our juices flowing again.  Like Julie, I hope this will work!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to it’s nice to know I’m not the only one

  1. barb19 says:

    Sometimes, a change is as good as a rest – and a completely new hairdo might just do it for you Shell. Good luck with it.

  2. Sometimes a simple external thing like a new haircut can really help. Hope you get back into the groove! I’ve missed your writing!

  3. Did you get your hair cut? I want to see it!

Leave a Reply

