I’m not fast, but I am furious

I try to keep up with the news, though I rarely watch it on television.  I mostly get my news from my iGoogle page, which has the latest headlines from the AP.  But, I missed a huge story and I don’t know how it happened.

I received an email newsletter from my congressman today telling me that Congress is considering holding Attorney General Eric Holder ” in contempt of Congress for his failure to fully comply with the investigation into operation “Fast and Furious””.  Fast & Furious?  Huh?  Of course, the movie was the first thing that popped into my mind.  Being the curious person that I am, I googled fast and furious.  I found a Forbes article from September 2011 that explained it the best.  And, that just made me furious!

It is alleged the U.S. government purposely sold thousands of semi-automatic guns to people they thought we connected to Mexican drug cartels.  The U.S. government instructed gun store owners to sell to suspected criminals, which, by the way, is against the law.  ATF Agents were instructed not to intercept these smuggled guns, but to let them make their way into Mexico.

Oh, yeah, the Mexican government didn’t know anything about this.

The article estimated that more than 650 guns have been purchased.  One of which was allegedly used to kill a U.S. Border Patrol agent, another to kill an ICE agent in Mexico.  Mexico’s Attorney General has reported at least 200 deaths in Mexico can be traced back to guns from the Fast & Furious operation.

I won’t even mention that it seems to be all political, a roundabout way to pass tougher gun laws.

Seriously?  What the hell was our government thinking?  Although I came to this party late, I am appalled none the less, that our government would knowingly let drug smugglers buy and carry weapons across the border.  Where is their sense of right and wrong?  WTF is happening to this country?

This entry was posted in this sucks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

