I was traumatized!

I did it.  I went Monday night and got my long hair cut off to donate to Locks of Love.  It was very traumatic, in more ways than one.

This is the first time my hair has been this short since I was around 18 or 19 years old.  Locks of Love only needs 10 inches of hair, but by the time my stylist had finished, he had sheered off more like 14 or 15 inches.  I was devastated at how much he took off.  I didn’t want it that short, but he kept insisting it was only 10 inches.  Perhaps he shouldn’t have braided it and then measured!  I didn’t realize how short he was cutting it until he cut off the first braid in the back.

After cutting off the braids, he then proceeded to give it some style, as he called it.  He trimmed off another inch to inch & a half, then blew it dry.  When I looked in the mirror, I hated it.  I do not like poofy hair and it was poofy.  I figured it would look better when I went home and washed all the poofy out.

I was so wrong!  I don’t know what the hell he was doing, but the left side was a good 1 1/2 inches longer than the right.  The way he had styled it, it wasn’t noticeable at first.  It was horribly choppy all over once it was wet.  I’m talking visible chunks of stair-step hair.  I have to wonder if 1) he was on drugs or 2) he doesn’t know how to cut hair for a style, only trims.  I had gone to this same guy for 4 or 5 years, but he’s never done anything but trim the ends  of my hair.

I was so freaked out I was considering waiting until the length grew out a little before I got it fixed, but every time I looked in the mirror on Tuesday, I couldn’t stand it.  I googled hair salons in my area and chose the one that had the best reviews.  Luckily, they were able to fit me in that same day.

The stylist was wonderful.  She was so sympathetic about what had happened, as she realized it was hard enough to get all that length cut off without having to face a horrible cut.  When she looked at my hair, she found it hard to believe a professional did it.  I can’t blame her.  It took her quite a while of little snips here and there to get it fixed.

I walked out of that salon feeling better, with even shorted hair.  It barely touches my shoulders now, as the stylist had to even it out to the shortest length.  It looks better, but I’m still not used to it being so short.  She has found herself a new client, though.  Scuba Man says there’s no way I’m going back to my old stylist.

All in all, I’m glad I did it.  My hair is nice and short for the hot weather.  It’s so easy to wash and comb out,  very easy to fix.  But best of all, hopefully, a  child with cancer will one day soon have my blonde locks made into a wig just for them.

This entry was posted in this sucks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I was traumatized!

  1. Mona says:

    I am so proud of you!!!!

  2. I have long hair and when my brother’s cancer came back I decided to chop it all off in my drafty bathroom with my swiss knife at 2am in the morning. Safe to say I had a terrible haircut and I wasn’t even being smart about it and actually donating it for a good cause! (I was being ritualistic) I think you are doing a wonderful thing by donating your hair to Locks of Love, as cancer patients and their families really need everything they can get!

    • Seashell says:

      Thank you! I’m sure your brother appreciated the support. I will keep him and your whole family in my prayers. Having 2 sisters that have fought cancer, I know the toll it can take on the family. Stay strong!

  3. Aww Shell, I am right there with you with a choppy cut! I went to a new hairdresser as mine has been in hospital for sometime now, so I was desperate. I told her not to cut my hair straightways if she was going to layer it. She did and you can see every layer. My friend recommended this hairdresser so have to pretend I’m pleased.

    Still yours were in a very good cause. 🙂

  4. Terry Foy says:

    I remember when Megan was around 8 or 9 years old she decided that she would get her long blonde hair cut off and donate it to locks of love. Her hair had only been trimmed on a few occasions which allowed her hair to be long enough to nearly touch the small of her back as well as being a lethal weapon when it was in a thick braid. When we took her to get her hair cut off I sat in the chair next to her and cried. Needless to say “I” was the one who was most traumatized and the she and the stylist made fun of her father crying. BTW, she just turned 20 and will start her junior year at Roanoke College. Where did the time go???????????

    • Seashell says:

      Where did the time go? How can Megan be 20? It seems like just yesterday at Potts, sometimes. I think Steve was a little upset when I asked him about doing it, but he thought it was for a good cause. I can understand Daddy being traumatized. We’re talking your baby girl here! It must have been hard to watch!

Leave a Reply

