the one thing

Sunday’s sermon at church was about The One Thing.  The one thing we want to accomplish that will make the most impact on our lives.  Just that one thing.

As it’s almost the middle of the year, it was a good time for the message.  We still have half a year left to get that one thing finished.  Pastor Allen’s one thing was to get  his health under control.  He said it was important to share our one thing with at least one person, but he wanted to share his with everyone.

I initially had a hard time deciding my one thing, because the two I was torn between go hand in hand.  I suffer from depression and I’m overweight.  I don’t feel motivated to exercise, thanks to the depression, yet exercising (along with other things) will help my depression.  It’s a vicious cycle!

I started thinking about that one thing that would also impact others, my family and friends.  And that, my friends, is the depression.  That’s the one thing I need to get under control.  Therefore, there are a few things I need to make sure I work on.

I need to start meditating again.  It calms me, gives my mind and body a chance to just be.  It centers me and helps me emotionally.

I need to eat even better than I have been.  I have to find a way to get more fruits and vegetables in my meals.  I can’t do comfort eating when I’m feeling blue.

I need to make progress on decluttering the house.  When I work at it, even getting rid of a little clutter makes me feel good.  I need to do it just one piece, one shelf, one dresser drawer at a time so I stop feeling so overwhelmed.  Even if I remove just one thing a day, by the end of the year, that’s still almost 200 things.

I need to build my support system back up, with people who really support me, not people who just claim they do.  Since we moved from Texas, I feel like I don’t have much of a support system.  I don’t talk to anyone anymore on a regular basis.  Some I talk to just don’t listen, they make it all about them.  There are times when I need it just all about me for a change!

I need to stop being so paranoid.  Simple little things, like an appointment getting cancelled, makes me wonder ‘Is it my fault?  What did I do that this person doesn’t want my business right now?’  Or I make a mistake at work and fret over what kind of trouble is going to come down on me, although it never does.  My boss is human and makes mistakes himself, so he understands when we make mistakes.  That doesn’t stop me from fretting, though!

I think if I concentrate on these things, asking God to guide me along the way, it will make the biggest impact on my life and the loves of those I love.  I have to stay focused and not let anything break that focus.

As Nehemiah basically told Sanballat in chapter 4 of the Book of Nehemiah:  I’m doing a great work and I can’t come down!

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the one thing

  1. H Shell.
    I can relate to your ongoing fight with weight issues. I feel depressed because I am fat, I exercise like mad so I should not be fat. I started to lose a lot of wight when I went on a gluten and dairy free diet and I had masess of energy. I felt great! The wheels fell off recently and I put on all the weight I’d lost and more :(. Now I feel depressed. It’s one vicious circle. We know what causes our depression Shell. To be honest I’m a firm believer that God only helps those who help temselves and praying wont help. WE have to take control of our own destiny and be strong. Says she who is sitting here in front of the PC stuffing a chocolate muffin.

    We are own own worst enemy.

    If you want to kick off a new healthy eating regime and need a buddy, I could do with one too

  2. barb19 says:

    I have a continual battle with my weight also, Shell, so I understand where you are coming from, but the depression makes it a vicious cycle. You have to focus, focus, focus, take baby steps, one thing at a time – that way, you will get to where you want to be.

    • Seashell says:

      That’s what I’m trying to do Barb, baby steps. My weight doesn’t really bother me. Except for the depression, I am healthy. I don’t even have high blood pressure anymore. But I know loosing more weight will make me even more healthy in the future. I think if I can get ahead of the depression, I won’t have the body aches and lack of motivation that I do now.

Leave a Reply

