It’s like a walk down memory lane

I never really paid attention until today, but your Facebook page is like a walk down memory lane.   I am not someone who posts on there a lot.  I lurk, reading my family and friend’s posts and comment if the mood strikes me, but as I was scrolling through my page this morning I realized there are posts for many significant days or events on that page.

There are photos of Willow’s first trip to the beach when she was just 8 weeks old.  There are a lot of posts about my sweet baby girl.

There are plenty of photos of Scuba Man’s 50th birthday party, the last four Christmas holidays spent at the beach, Willow’s first romp in the snow which she totally loved.  Then there’s the post about adopting Pockets when he was just 4 days old and had been abandoned by his mother, who we think may have been injured somehow and couldn’t return to her babies.

pockets

My grand-niece and grand-nephew were given my camera to take photos on our trip to the zoo, and they were all posted.  They did a good job considering they we so young.  I’ve posted profile  pictures of my mom and of my dad for Mother’s Day and Father’s Day, or on their birthdays.  There’s a photo of my youngest grand-niece taken just hours after she was born, lots of Hurricane Irene updates about the beach and the house, many photos of all the ‘grands’ at their birthday parties.

I posted many photos from our trip to Green Bay, shared many links and posts that I liked, and just tidbits of my world.

More than half of my contacts are family, including siblings, nieces & nephews & their kids, cousins, aunts, and uncles.  For me, it’s a great way to keep in touch since we don’t live close to anyone.  I have a daily connection with them.  I can see the kids grow up, hear about their adventures, see their photos.  That’s the biggest reason I’m on Facebook, my family.

I have stayed in contact with friends from Houston, a couple of high school friends, friends here that I don’t often see.  In our busy world, being able to keep in touch, when you can, seems to be what it’s all about.

But for me, I like scrolling through every once in a while and seeing where my life has been and what it has become.  It’s ever changing and that’s a good thing.

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s like a walk down memory lane

  1. barb19 says:

    I love that photo of Pockets – so tiny!
    FB is a great way to keep in touch with family, and that’s what I mostly use it for too, and some close friends who live on the other side of the world. I just looked through my page and had forgotten about many of the events that have happened, and the photos that were taken. It’s like a journal, and I enjoyed the stroll down memory lane!

    • barb19 says:

      Sorry about the double entry Shell – I thought the first one hadn’t gone through until I posted the second one and saw it was there. Please delete the first one!

    • Seashell says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed your stroll Barb! That photo of Pockets was taken the day we adopted him. I sometimes wonder who rescued who…

Leave a Reply

