Freckles is a Hero

I was going to start this post with ‘Once upon a time’, but then you would think it was a fairy tale.  It’s not.  It’s real life.  It’s the brief story of Freckles, an amazing mamma.

On April 2, 2013, there was a barn fire.  The horse trailer next to it also caught fire.  As her adopted (aka: human) daddy, John, was fighting the fire, Freckles was running into the trailer!  She gave birth to her puppies in there just the week before.

Her daddy pulled her out of harm’s way as soon as he could.  She had saved 2 of her puppies, but was badly burned.  Her daddy rushed her to the Powhatan Animal Hospital where a team of medical staff was waiting for her.  Freckles survived.  She’s a fighter!

Freckles is home now, but is going through treatments at Veterinary Referral and Critical Care, the same place that helped Willow defeat her meningitis.  It is the very best critical care facility in the area and I wouldn’t take Willow anywhere else in an emergency.

With the medical bills we went through with our baby girl, we know what kind of bills her daddy is amassing.  It’s very expensive to get our four-legged family members healthy when they are so ill.  John was very reluctant to do it, but he set up a ‘go fund me’ account to raise money for Freckles’ medical bills.  He is very close to the goal he originally set up, but the bills are piling up and she still has a long way to go before she’s totally healed.

As it took so much for John to even ask for help to begin with, he is even more reluctant to raise the goal.  It is so very hard to ask for money, especially from strangers.  So, I am asking for him.  I know there are dog lovers out there who read my blog.  If you can, even if it’s just a little, please consider giving to help Freckles using the link below, even if the goal has been reached.  You can also read more of Freckles’ story there.

If you can’t give, please say a prayer for Freckles and her family as they struggle through her recovery.  Thank you from everyone who has come to love Freckles.

http://www.gofundme.com/2ht5gk?forcedesktop=1

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freckles is a Hero

  1. barb19 says:

    This is such a sad story and my heart goes out to Freckles, John and the family. I know that the money will keep pouring in to help cover the on-going vet’s bills… people can be so kind, and this story will move anyone to help if they can.
    I pray that Freckles makes a full recovery so she can enjoy raising her two puppies, and will be following the story on FB so that I get to know the final outcome.
    Thank you for sharing this touching story, Shell.

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks for your prayers Barb! Her Facebook page is ‘Freckles is a Hero’ in case you haven’t found it yet. John’s been posting pictures of her progress and it’s great to see her looking a lit better every day.

  2. John Miles says:

    Who is the authors of tha blog? My name is John and I am Freckles dad and I LOVE THIS article, you couldn’t have said it better. I am a very proud man and NEVER reach out for help but this ordeal has just tasked me to places I am not used to. I continue to dig deep to help her pull through and she is responding with flying colors thanks to the support from each and every one of you. I love you guys for what you have done and continue to do!
    John Miles

    • Seashell says:

      Hey John, this is Michele M. from Facebook. This is my blog. I donated to help and have been trying to spread the word. Our little angel had meningitis and the expenses were outrageous. That’s why I wanted to put Freckles out there. She’s a special little lady and has captured my heart!

Leave a Reply

