let’s catch up!

Shadow

Shadow

There’s been a lot happening in the seashell household the last 2 years.  For one, we have a new family member who arrived a year ago at Christmas.  Shadow is a black kitty, who is now almost 20 months old.  He’s been an interesting addition to the family as his personality is so different from Willow and Pockets.  He’s not much of a cuddler and at first was not even a people person, but has really warmed up to mommy and daddy.  Pockets tolerates him and sometimes play with him.  Willow shows lots of interests in him and will sniff around and lay near him, but since he’s small, I think she’s afraid to play with him.

Willow is doing wonderful.  She had to get put back on her immune suppressants and will be on them the rest of her life, but she’s healthy.  Except, of course, for those infections she occasionally gets because her immune system is suppressed.  She is as sweet as ever.  Pockets is Pockets.  He still wants to be cuddled all the time, has gotten bolder trying to run out the back door, and likes nothing more than to be rocked in mommy’s arms.

Scuba Man is as awesome as always and we’re both doing well.  We haven’t moved to the beach yet, but it’s getting closer!  We’ve finally started getting the painting done at our main home.  The foyer, steps, and upstairs hallway are all complete.  The family room is next.  We have a few more things to sort through after the holiday weekend and then the painting can begin!  Woo hoo.

The new kitchen

The new kitchen

The beach house now has all the siding and new lights put up.  Scuba Man and my wonderful brother-in-law put in a brand new kitchen!  It still needs a few things, like the trim work finished and painting the cabinets, but it’s functional and looks awesome.  The other stuff can wait until we move down there, as it’s something I can do myself.  Best of all, it has my old fashion farm-house sink in it!  Next month, they are rebuilding the front deck.

The old kitchen

The old kitchen

I’ve gone from blonde back to brown hair.  I stopped using chemicals on my hair and body.  Now I use a henna dye and the blonde doesn’t really work well, so I’m back to my natural color with the dye hiding the grey.  It’s gotten much longer and Scuba Man loves it.  I’ve switched to natural/organic everything – soap, detergent, lotion, make-up, etc.  The best part about it is non-chemical products don’t test on animals!

I no longer develop code for a living.  I’m an IT Project Manager now and absolutely loving it.  I think I finally found what I want to do when I grow up!  Scuba Man also starts a new position next month that he’s looking forward to.  Work is great for both of us.

And the biggest new is….

The twins with their very proud big brother.

The twins with their very proud big brother.

A week ago today, we had 2 new additions to our extended family.  Our nephew and his wife had twins!  A beautiful baby girl named Gracelyn and an adorable baby boy name Josiah.  I am very much looking forward to our next trip to Florida to meet them!  That brings the total to 19 grand nieces and nephews!  Our family is so very blessed!

 

I think that’s about all the news that’s important right now.  What’s been happening with you?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to let’s catch up!

  1. Barb says:

    Things have been quite busy in your family it seems! Congratulations on the birth of the new twins; big brother looks very proud!
    I remember Willow and Pockets, so now they have a new brother in the house. Welcome Shadow!
    Lots been happening here too – hubby was very sick, in a coma and was on life support for two weeks but eventually made it through; such a stressful time because at the same time my mother had another stroke. Sadly, she didn’t survive. We have also lost one of our dogs so now we are down to just one, a shih-tzu called Poppy who will be 16 this July, so we treasure each and every day we have with her.
    Nice to catch up Shell!

    • Seashell says:

      I’m so sorry about your mom, Barb. I lost my dad in January. It’s such a difficult thing to go through, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as when I lost my mom. There is something about that mother/daughter relationship. I know you were very close to your mom. Praying God gives you peace.
      I’m so glad to hear the hubby is doing better! It must have been such a horrible time for you! And to lose one of your “babies” also. Poppy must be feeling lost being without her friend. It’s so good to hear you are cherishing your time with her.
      Wishing you lots of love, happiness, and laughter in the future.

      • Barb says:

        Thanks Shell, the three of us are doing fine, hope you and yours are too.
        Looking forward to hearing more about your newest addition to the family.

Leave a Reply

