I’m Obsessed

Can one ever have too many books?

Can one ever have too many books?

Sometime three summers or so ago, I bought a Kindle.  Not a fancy one, just the Kindle touch.  I was one of those people who had hundreds of books and would end up taking a bunch on vacation with me.  To me, vacation is kicking back, relaxing, and reading.  I don’t usually want to do much else.

Of course, taking 4 or 5 or more books with you adds to the bulk and weight of your luggage.  You can’t always be carrying a book with you where ever you go, especially if you are reading a hardback.  Paperbacks are a little easier.  The Kindle?  I can carry it everywhere!  And I do.

I have become obsessed with reading.  Don’t get me wrong, I have always loved reading.  As a kid, my mama would force me to put down my book and go out to play.  Now, I read every chance I get because I always have plenty of books with me.

I was one of those people who thought they could never read a book electronically.  I wanted the feel of the book in my hands.  I wanted the smell of the book.  I wanted to turn real paper pages.  Wrong!  I blame it all on my niece.  She raved about her Kindle and showed it to me when I visited.  I was hooked.  I haven’t picked up a book with paper pages since then.

I am never at a loss for things to read.  Amazon has hundreds of free books and thousands more at very low prices.  I have about 1,000 books on my Kindle right now, a lot of them freebies.  They are all good books.  I’ve only read 2 or 3 free books that I didn’t like.  I’ve also read quite a few books from authors that I had never heard of that I never would have read otherwise.  Discovering new authors whose writing blows you away is a real treat!

So, I’ve spent time I used to spend on writing posts, reading.  It’s a disease for which there is no cure.  But I’m okay with that.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

