casting the first stone

Last week, social media was awash in two things: the colors of what a unicorn would puke up from eating too many skittles and pure hatred….

It doesn’t matter if one agrees with the Supreme Court decision regarding gay marriage or not.  The LGBT folks have a right to celebrate what they and many others see as a victory. They use the colors of the rainbow, which signifies the promise God made to never again flood the earth, as a symbol of their pride of being who they are.  People should never feel ashamed of who they are, although feeling shame at what you do is a different story..

bible-vs-homosexualityThe haters, well, many are those who call themselves Christians.  They are obviously a different kind of Christian than I am, my pastors are, and my Church family are. These Christians appear to be very selective about disseminating what is said in the Bible.  Yes, there are at least 7 passages that say homosexuality is immoral.  Is this is what their hatred is based on?

I chose to follow what my pastors teach.  Read Romans 13:8-10.  It’s all about loving your neighbor as you love yourself.  Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is fulfilling the law of God.  Ephesians 5:1-2 tells us to be imitators of God and walk in love as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us.  1 John 4:8 tells us that anyone who does not love does not know God because God is love.  Or, one of my favorite passages, 1 Corinthians 13: 4-6, a passage we had read at our wedding “Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.” (ESV). Jesus even gave us a new commandment to love one another.

The Bible does not say that homosexuality is a greater sin than any other.  Everyone sins.  There is and never was a perfect, sinless person to walk the face of this earth except for Jesus Christ.  According to the Bible, homosexuals have God’s forgiveness available just as any other sinner.  Wasn’t it Jesus who said to the group of people about to stone an adulteress “Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.”?

bible-dust-read-me1My heart goes out to those Christians who hate.  I don’t imagine they feel the same peace in their relationship with God as I do.  I pray they eventually find that kind of relationship.  I am a sinner and I know God still loves me.  Although I can hate the sin, I cannot bring myself to hate the sinner, regardless of what the sin is.  I cannot bring myself to shun other sinners, as I would be totally alone.  Who was it that Jesus hung out with the most in the Bible?  Was it those who were professing to be following God’s commandments or was it those who were breaking the commandments, those who needed forgiveness the most?

I have a grand-niece, a high school freshman, who is gay.  I am so very,very proud of her for not being afraid to be herself and not hide who she feels she is.  And, guess what?  She is a Christian!  And, guess what else?  I do think homosexuality is a sin.  And, guess what again?  I love her to the moon and back!

Hate the sin people, not the sinner.

Rant over.

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to casting the first stone

  1. Barb says:

    Amen! I loved your rant (it could have been me saying it). I agree, hate the sin, not the sinner because after all, we are all God’s children.

Leave a Reply

