Day Zero

The Mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as new year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks.

This idea came to me courtesy of PiP, who got the idea from Sarsm’s blog, who got it from Emma’s blog.  I like the idea because the goals can be small or large.  1001 days seems like I will have a long time to finish my goals.  So, here goes, in random order.  Some of the things can only be done while we are in Richmond and not at the beach, though.  Those are marked with a star.

  1. Lose 30 pounds
  2. Exercise on treadmill 3 times per week*
  3. Eat at least 1 veggie per day
  4. Eat at least 1 fruit per day
  5. Drink a glass of milk daily.
  6. Complete this list
  7. Maintain this list weekly
  8. Finish cleaning office*
  9. Clean out kitchen pantry*
  10. Clean out kitchen drawers*
  11. Clean out upper cabinets*
  12. Clean out lower cabinets*
  13. Paint the foyer and hall*
  14. Read 100 books
  15. Write 400 blog posts
  16. Read the manual for my new camera
  17. Try 10 new recipes
  18. Water plants weekly*
  19. Complete litter change weekly
  20. Scan and backup 500 paper documents*
  21. Clean out master bath closet*
  22. Clean out main bath closet*
  23. Do yoga or ballet 150 times
  24. Meditate 150 times
  25. Have 15 date nights with Scuba Man
  26. Write 30 letters
  27. Reach a total of 20,000 blog hits
  28. Get a facial
  29. Crochet hat for T
  30. Finish crocheting scarf for T
  31. Crochet afghan for N
  32. Have 3 weekends alone
  33. Have 30 totally lazy days
  34. Clean out small bedroom*
  35. Paint Scuba Man’s office*
  36. Go to a museum
  37. Develop the habit of flossing every night
  38. Put all DVDs in binders*
  39. Add an upbeat music playlist for exercising
  40. Make a new friend
  41. Watch no more than 2 hours of TV daily
  42. Go on a non beach vacation
  43. Create a 101/1001 page to track my progress
  44. Stay off my computer for 15 weekends
  45. Go to a pro football game
  46. Learn how to make clotted cream
  47. Photograph 30 faces of strangers
  48. Phone a long distance friend 30 times
  49. Paint porch railing
  50. Gather with friends 15 times
  51. Go to 5 free events I wouldn’t normally go to
  52. Spend an entire day alone with my sister
  53. Clean out bonus room*
  54. Learn to use my sewing machine*
  55. Paint living room*
  56. List 15 thing on eBay
  57. Answer 50 questions that will free your mind
  58. Stake out new trees in front yard
This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day Zero

  1. sarsm says:

    Fantastic and welcome!!

    If you would like to use our badge, feel free to copy it, it’s on my take part page.

    I’ll add you to my next update and my 101ers blogroll and tat will help towards your goal 27. Plus if you wrte an update you’d like me to publicize for you, let me know and I can do so in my monthly update.

    Water plants weekly should actually be on my list.

    I wish you success and much pleasure in completing your list. It’s a great adventure.

  2. This sounds like a great idea, Shell! Best of luck starting it!

  3. Hi Shell,
    Well done for joining us! I will add a link back to your blog and look forward to reading your progress 🙂 I am not sure what sounds worse 1001 days or 2.75 years!
    Go girl GO! 🙂

Leave a comment